Skip to main content

Family of four look at computer screen

Family Services

The Department of Family Services (DFS) is one of five Departments within the Division of Health and Family Services. DFS is Sullivan County's local district for social services which administers all phases of social services and public assistance programs as defined in NYS Social Services Law.

DFS' mission is to help residents of Sullivan County achieve wellbeing and independence through opportunities that protect, empower, respect choice and preserve dignity.

If you suspect child abuse or neglect, call the New York State Child Abuse Hotline at 1-800-342-3720.

A Look at Our Partners - Independent Living and Action Toward Independence (September 2018 Presentation)

Independent Living Centers Presentation

Independent Living's website

Action Toward Independence's website