Skip to main content


Division of Planning, Community Development and Real Property Staff

Click on names/titles to directly email that person.

Freda Eisenberg, AICP, Commissioner

Prior to becoming planning commissioner in 2014, Freda Eisenberg worked in local government for the Town of Southampton, NY and as a private sector consultant to developers, municipalities and stakeholder groups in the greater NY metro area. She began her planning career as a regional planner in rural western Massachusetts, working with 43 municipalities for the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission. Freda’s planning work has addressed a broad array of issues, including: sustainability, comprehensive and strategic plans, economic development, water quality, downtown revitalization, corridor redevelopment, affordable housing, park and trail planning, historic and agricultural preservation, alternative transportation, and zoning for specialized uses. She holds a BA in English Literature from Barnard College, Columbia University, and a Master of the Art of Landscape Design from the Conway School Graduate Program in Sustainable Landscape Planning and Design.

Jill M. Weyer, Deputy Commissioner

Jill M. Weyer is Deputy Commissioner for the Division. She received a Masters in Public Administration in Environmental Science & Policy from Columbia University in 2008 and a Bachelors of Landscape Architecture from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse, New York in 1998. After working for a Landscape Architecture firm in Kingston, New York, she returned to her hometown to work in the community she was raised in. Her major job duties for the Division include oversight and coordination of the Sullivan 2020 implementation, as well as many programs and initiatives to promote planning, protection of open space and farmland, community development and watershed management.

Heather Jacksy, AICP, Chief Planner

Heather signed on as a Planner for the Division in December of 2005.  She completed her undergraduate degree at the New School for Social Research and received a Masters in Urban Planning from Hunter College in New York City. Heather has previously worked for both the private and public sectors in areas ranging from housing to transportation. Her current projects include working on the Sullivan O&W Rail Trail, and development and preservation in the Upper Delaware River.

Kassondra Johnstone, Planner

Kassondra joined the Division in 2018. She coordinates projects related to downtown revitalization and economic development, including the New York Main Street Program, Monticello-Thompson Grow the Gateways Committee, and Emerald Corporate Center Economic Development Corporation. Prior to relocating to Sullivan County, Kassondra worked at the New York State Division of the Budget and the New York State Department of Health. She holds a BA in Political Science from Hartwick College and a Masters in Public Administration from SUNY at Albany. 

Cheryl Grande, Confidential Secretary

Cheryl started her career in Sullivan County in 2012, working for the Office of the County Attorney, as an Administrative Assistant.  Cheryl joined the Division in February of 2022.  She is responsible for the daily administrative functions of the Division of Planning and Community Development as well as lending assistance to the Department of Grants Administration, the Parks, Recreation & Beautification Department and the Office of Sustainable Energy.  Cheryl became a resident of Sullivan County in 2010 and currently resides in Bloomingburg with her family.